Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Welcomes New Members to Board of Governors



Actor Lou Diamond Phillips, film executive Hannah Minghella, screenwriter Dana Stevens, and producer David I. Dinerstein have been elected to serve on the Board of Governors for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The board comprises representatives from various branches of the academy, including directors, actors, executives, and professionals from below-the-line crafts such as sound, production design, and costuming.

Inclusion and Diversity

The Academy continues its efforts towards inclusion and diversity within its leadership. The newly announced members join incumbents like director Ava DuVernay and producer Lynette Howell Taylor. With this election, women now form a majority (53%) of the board, and a quarter of the board consists of individuals from underrepresented racial or ethnic groups.

Responsibilities and Future Initiatives

The Board of Governors plays a crucial role in setting the organization’s strategy, managing its finances, and ensuring the fulfillment of its mission. Additionally, the Oscars are implementing new inclusion standards for best picture contenders, emphasizing representation both on and off-screen, within the crew, at the studio, and in opportunities for training and advancement. Furthermore, the academy announced that starting next year, best picture hopefuls will need to spend more time in theaters to qualify for the 97th Academy Awards in 2025, following two years of relaxed standards due to the pandemic.

And get notified every time we publish
1 comment
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like