Seyi Makinde

Seyi Makinde Re-elected as Oyo State Governor with Landslide Victory


On Sunday, the Independent National Electoral Commission declared Seyi Makinde, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Oyo State Governor, as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Seyi Makinde won 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state, while his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressive Congress (APC), won two local governments of Irepo and Ore-lope. Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party scored 38,357 votes.

According to the state Returning Officer, Olusola Kehinde, Makinde polled 563,756 votes to beat Folarin, who scored 256,685 votes. The Returning Officer said, “That Makinde Oluseyi having satisfied the requirement of the law is declared winner of the poll.”

Makinde, who was seeking re-election, on Saturday, contested against Folarin, a three-term Senator, and Adebayo Adelabu of Accord Party, who was a former deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

The governor’s victory is seen as a significant win for the PDP, which has maintained control of Oyo State since 2003, except for the period between 2011 and 2019, when the APC was in power.

And get notified every time we publish
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like